36 hours in Boston.

4 Jan

cimg1219.jpg

Happy 2008. I went to Boston for New Year’s and I used my new camera to document people sitting around tables having drinks. Here we go.

First we went to Border Café for margaritas as an homage to Mexican Tuesdays. Here I am holding up an unraveled version of the tomato rose we were calling Darcy’s doorbell. You have to ring it to enter. There is a front door and a back door. Ask the Mad Nerdess if you want specifics.

cimg1222.jpg

Laura in a found necklace and Paul smooching her.

cimg1223.jpg

A claw and a jaunty vest.

cimg1239.jpg

Next we moved to Grendel’s Den because it was free and we settled in for midnight. Whitney is fond of drinking beer from tall glasses. I think so he can make this face.

cimg1259.jpg

Brian, Courtney, the soul patch.

cimg1260.jpg

Google texting.

cimg1297.jpg

Damn.

cimg1318.jpg

Some of us blow our horns early.

cimg1249.jpg

Others wait patiently for 24:00.

cimg1268-1.jpg

Paul is a man who looks good in a scarf.

cimg1270.jpg

Suddenly it’s 2008 and everything is different. Our beer tastes like complementary champagne.

cimg1272.jpg

cimg1273.jpg

Here I am trying to get the waitress’s attention by boring a dimple into my face. Not working.

cimg1296.jpg

Whitney breaks a new year’s resolution when he snarfs beer everywhere.

cimg1307.jpg

Former roomies.

cimg1319.jpg

Also former roomies.

cimg1286.jpg

Shenanigans.

cimg1292.jpg

The next morning, we felt a little somehow at breakfast.

cimg1332.jpg

After coffee and homefries, my first act of 2008 was to try a new group picture technique I heard about. Instead of just having one person run into place after setting up the timer, make everyone run and also switch places between shots. Very successful!

cimg1333.jpg

cimg1334.jpg

cimg1336.jpg

cimg1338.jpg

Then we went shopping. Here Laura cries inside over some shoes she can’t afford.

cimg1340.jpg

I think this store is new. I’m pretty sure it won’t be there next time I visit.

cimg1347-1.jpg

Hats. I wonder who they would do?? If you think Darcy looks super cute in that one, you are right. She went home with it.

cimg1348.jpg

Hope your year is off to a good start.

PS. A little late, but I have another challenge for you to ignore. You are going to make some resolutions and predictions for 2008 and you are going to set it to post one year from New Year’s Day on January 1, 2009. Then we can all wait a whole year for the big reveal. I plan to write mine as if my 2009 self is quizzing my 2008 self with questions like: Who is president? Where am I moving after graduating two weeks ago? Do I have a job? Do I have a chance in hell? What’s it like to be so awesome? This will be cool because if Huckabee is elected president and I shoot myself, I can creep everyone out by posting posthumously.

One Response to “36 hours in Boston.”

  1. Darcy 01/6/08 at 2:43 pm #

    I like ignoring things.

Leave a comment