I miss you.

13 Apr

Let’s spend a little time together. I’ve had some posts planned in my head that just haven’t materialized. One is titled “Jealous?” and I show you a picture of my new red ten-speed resting on its kickstand in the sun and I tag it “You want to ride my bicycle. You want to ride my bike.” It might still happen.

What have I been up to lately besides wearing sweaters and not blogging about it? I’m overwhelmed. I don’t know where to start. I touched Seelander again. I attended Ms. Stanifer’s class. I went to Florida, saw some weird birds and found one shark tooth.

Let’s just start with today. I didn’t like it.

When I woke up at 7 I knew I had to give a 45 minute presentation to a class of library students, and all of my demo code was broken because I spent all day Sunday breaking it. I made coffee and started working on it. I broke more than I fixed. Including my toilet, for no reason. I tried to flush a smooshed bug and it started to overflow. It was sleeting outside but I had to walk to work. Then my umbrella broke, too. I struggled to hold a door for someone with my stupid umbrella and a mug of coffee in my hands and he scooted in behind me, rather than touch the germy door (I HATE that) and I almost broke him.

I worked on my presentation through lunch but I finished it on time! It was titled The Metadata Magic Show, and it included a live rendering of these two static webpages (from the same xml file using XSL and rudimentary css). The instructor loved it. Two students (out of eight) nodded off and two updated their Facebook status – one of the updates, twenty minutes into my show-and-tell: “Today sucks.” Awesome.

Part of this presentation was a plug for this class I’m supposed to teach this summer but based on the interest level, I’m guessing no one is going to sign up for it and it will be cancelled. Who will pay my rent?

When I got home, I tried to reflush the partially smooshed bug floating in my toilet and I realized it was still (barely) alive, kicking his broken little legs. I’m sorry! I deserved a shitty day!

9 Responses to “I miss you.”

  1. cinnamon tingle 04/13/09 at 8:26 pm #

    stupid millennials. you don’t want them taking your class anyway. you’d probably have to close all of their tags for them

    speaking of facebook statuses, you should read steve’s as a pick-me-up. though fb says he only updated it ten minutes ago, I’d like to think he was thinking of you at 4:25-ish but just couldn’t get to a computer. you don’t deserve a shitty day, you deserve some Surly Coffee Bender if you ever get over here…

  2. cinnamon tingle 04/13/09 at 8:28 pm #

    hey. my joke ironic close tag didn’t show up when i posted that. stupid wordpress. it was pretty funny too…

  3. DARCY 04/14/09 at 8:45 am #

    you can live with me. I will never write a fb status that says, today sucks. I promise.

  4. Sealander 04/14/09 at 9:30 am #

    When can we make beautiful XML together, Joanna? When?

  5. Diana 04/14/09 at 11:16 am #

    Joanna and the Terrible, Horrible, No Good Very Bad Day. I think you deserve a cupcake.

  6. Rogue Baker 04/14/09 at 9:05 pm #

    You know my opinion of assholes that update their status during presentations. So sorry about that. You should call them out on it. I will buy you a beer this weekend.

  7. Courtney 04/15/09 at 5:07 pm #

    If I were still a student, I would take your totally awesome sounding class. And your websites rock. I love/hate Paul Newman.

    What the F? Why would you update your facebook status during the presentation by a person who you are friends with on facebook and say your day sucks? Just shows you our class is best.

  8. wb001i 04/16/09 at 10:22 pm #

    I finally read your course description. I love that the university let it through. I hate that no one’s registered for it.

  9. ngtamber 04/19/09 at 11:39 am #

    Omigosh, I remember that day so well! I actually walked by that class while you were up at the podium like 10 times trying to get the nerve to barge in and say “I’m joining the class today!” because I wanted to hear your presentation so bad. no jokes, I kept peeking in the window, too.

    And don’t get down on Millennials and our inability to not update our statuses during inappropriate times. Not going to lie–I would probably update my facebook during my own funeral. I am sure his/her day was sucky before class, and seeing how awesome you are and how awesome life will be in the summer when they are taking your class just made the current day seem that much suckier. so see? it’s a compliment.

Leave a Reply

