I cashed out my Karma

10 Oct

I landed in BUF last night. I’m here for a wedding this weekend, in which I play a bridesmaid and The Cheese Rind plays my date. I’m sure it will be well-documented on both blogs, so you have that to look forward to.

Does it surprise anyone that I made my flight with seventy-two seconds to spare? You’d think I would have learned my lesson, but I got the flight time wrong again. After a harrowing drive, I ran to the ticket counter and a very kind lady got special permission to put me back on the very last seat of the flight, the last one of the day, even though the computer said I was too late, because I asked nicely. And a guy hand delivered my checked bag to the plane. You cannot beat the Moline airport. Seventy-two seconds after I began this transaction, another woman came running to the counter begging to be let on the now-full flight and she was turned away. As I hustled to the gate, I could hear her cries of But I have a reservation! There are still ten minutes left to board! How dare you give my seat away!

I felt so alive. In fact I think the residual adrenaline (plus a diet coke and a coffee) is why I am apparently up for the day and blogging before 6 EST. Having stayed up til 2 to do homework. But I am never doing that again.

3 Responses to “I cashed out my Karma”

  1. wb 10/10/08 at 9:00 am #

    I don’t believe you. You will be late again, and you know it.

    Did you know that Willie Nelson covered ‘Brand New Key’?

  2. Mike D. 10/10/08 at 9:27 am #

    I love the song ‘brand new key’

    I hope that’s what the WB is talking about.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Drunk bar pictures prove we’re still fun « jobonga - 10/31/08

    […] bar pictures prove we’re still fun A few weeks ago I dragged W east for a wedding. Remember? I know it’s old news, and he already blogged about it. But it was such a magical trip, I need […]

Leave a Reply

