Glorious lakes!

18 Jul

I picked this one up because I liked the picture and the unfortunate name of the lake. And the casual reference to death.

(June 22, 1954)
Dear kids,
This shows the lake we’re staying at. (Birch) Also the lake Emil died in. (Leech) We went to Walker Sat. and went across some of it. It’s about ten miles from here. It’s sure big. Thought you’d like to have it. The boys are going to Leech Lake to fish tomorrow. Wish you were here. Know you’d enjoy it. Tell Hank + Mary “hello.”
Love, Pauline + William

If I had to choose a favorite geological feature, it would probably be the lake. And though I am partial to all the Great Lakes, Lake Ontario is my favorite. Here are some shots I took while sailing home from Toronto with my dad a few weeks ago.

Toronto at night.

Coffee in the morning.

Boat parts during the sail home.

I did go swimming, but he didn’t want to put the sails down so I had to swim 1.5 knots/hr to keep up. Faster than I thought it would be.

Post swim, nap, and sunburn.

5 Responses to “Glorious lakes!”

  1. wb 07/18/08 at 11:42 am #

    Did you notice that there is both a Women Lake and a Boy Lake in that postcard? Also in the area are Girl Lake, Little Boy Lake, and Child Lake.

  2. Darcy 07/18/08 at 12:21 pm #

    Do you think there will be cool lake names in Maine? I don’t know if i can participate without good names.

  3. archivnoten 07/20/08 at 2:44 pm #

    There is a lake in Ohio named the Big Bone Lick Lake. That’s unfortunate.

  4. Jane 07/21/08 at 5:27 pm #

    Sucker Lake is just outside the Twin Cities. Or as I like to call it, “Sucka Lake”.

  5. wb 07/23/08 at 10:38 am #

    In Maine we will be on Great Pond. Which is surrounded by Long Pond, East Pond, and North Pond. Sorrydarcy.

Leave a Reply

