Not really where I left off

29 Jun

I flew eastward for this conference and now I’m at my parent’s house. I was supposed to leave for Iowa early this morning but yesterday my mom woke me up from a pre-dinner nap with a pitcher of margaritas, and I thought about how the library (where I work) is still under water. (Did you know the Midwest is suffering from flood and bloat? My Northwest airline agent had no idea and that surprised me. Since you have to fly through the Midwest to get to the Northwest.) And I decided I might as well stay here where there is always cheese in the fridge and ice cream in the freezer.

(Unfortunately I made this decision after I had bailed from visiting the littlest Lisa in Rochester because I didn’t have time to make the trip. And now I have time but no car priveleges. I miss you, Lisa.)  

So here I am and I just trounced my parents in Scrabble. Not scrabulous. It’s been a while since I’ve played it at an actual table. My dad is a miserable speller. The most absurd of his spelling questions came during his last turn (before he quit), with rhaaait in his hand.

“What’s the arabic word for law?” (He was going for shariah. Not legal.) Immediately follwed by: “What do you call the guy who collects dead horses?” Do you know of such a noun?

2 Responses to “Not really where I left off”

  1. mdawaffe 06/30/08 at 1:16 pm #

    knacker

  2. jobonga 07/14/08 at 3:47 pm #

    Hey, you’re right. I wonder how he was going to spell it with those letters.

Leave a Reply

