Action item

21 Apr

My podcasts can’t keep up with me. Because I like noise all the time, I get through all of them by midweek. (I suffered an ear-bud related injury last week. Maybe I should cut back.) I mostly rely on NPR and I’m getting bored. My mainstays:
1. This American Life
2. The Bryant Park Project
3. On Point
4. All Songs Considered
5. Agatha Christie Radio Mysteries
6. NerdGirlsTalking (Not bored of. I never do the dishes without it. But production is sparse.)

What podcasts do you love that I need to subscribe to?

9 Responses to “Action item”

  1. 11frogs 04/22/08 at 7:50 am #

    Grammar Girl’s Quick and Dirty Tips (short), Lonely Planets Travelcasts (for selected locations), Living on Earth (Public Radio International), Princeton University Podcasts (a bunch of Ivy League lectures, I pick the good topics. Lucia found this one.), Writers on Writing, Speaking of Faith (MN Public Radio).

    I am three months behind because I seldom listen to music or radio except when cleaning or driving, and sometimes not even then. I need a road trip to catch up, though I did get through the This American Life backlog on the way to Iowa.

  2. 11frogs 04/22/08 at 7:52 am #

    Oh, I forgot – Radio Lab. That one’s new. And good. And my friend’s boyfriend works there.

  3. Darcy 04/22/08 at 9:06 am #

    I really like Cute with Chris video podcast (you have to start from the beginning) and wait, wait don’t tell me.

  4. tommy 04/22/08 at 9:47 am #

    1.KCRW’s The Treatment with Elvis Mitchell (a former NY Times film critic). He talks with writer/directors on their recent projects.

    2. ESPN’s Sports Guy usually has some non-sports related podcasts. He just had one with his buddy on the 20 year Real World reunion show, and how they feel increasingly awkward that they still watch the show, even though they’re nearing 40.

  5. Lucia 04/22/08 at 10:39 am #

    I wrote this big long comment, but then realized it would be better served on my own blog. check it out.

  6. ngtamber 04/24/08 at 12:33 pm #

    Well you know the best Harry Potter podcasts out there are Pottercast and Mugglecast. I haven’t been listening to them this past month though b/c of the HP lexicon lawsuit–it would stress me out to listen to them talk about it. But it would probably be super interesting to you since they would be talking a lot about fair use and internet vs. print, etc. The whole thing just makes me so sad, and I’m just really disappointed how most of the fandom turned their back on Steve VanderArk (a former Pottercast mainstay). Bah Humbug. But yeah, otherwise, they are totally sweet. They get some really big interviews (J.K. Rowling herself being the best).

  7. Darcy 04/26/08 at 8:03 am #

    You will love the podcast, you look nice today. It is great.

  8. jobonga 04/26/08 at 11:04 pm #

    Thanks guys. I made it through the week. I’m listening to You Look Nice Today while I create database tables and drink wine.

  9. Darcy 05/1/08 at 4:20 pm #

    so now you know what a merkin is?

Leave a Reply

