Emma, you fool

6 Apr

I just saw Bon Iver. Having been warned that they had the stage presence of corrugated cardboard, my expectations were low. But they rocked. They rocked! In fact, by El Scorcho’s description, I’m not convinced he actually saw Bon Iver. I didn’t detect any overt Swedishness, main man Justin Vernon played several guitars, and it was easy to understand him. I may be biased because I want to jump the drummer, Sean Carey, but I don’t think so. They were good. My favorite song was The Wolves (Act I and II) because it ended with an instrumental freak out, with a particularly athletic performance on the drums. I might as well turn this into an installment of who would I do and a hat. Sean Carey, I would do you. Come back to Iowa City soon. I have a hunch you smell good. I’ll make you pancakes. Even your name is hot. Sean Carey. I wonder how often you google yourself, Sean Carey, Sean Carey.

You can just barely see him here at about 1:13. At least I think that’s him. Give them another chance, Madison. They’re playing your town next Friday. Only $10.

Oh, and the hat. My second floppiest. Penultimate flop.

Floppy hat

I do still have more winter hats to share, but I couldn’t bring myself to put one on since it was 100% spring today.

11 Responses to “Emma, you fool”

  1. wb 04/6/08 at 2:32 am #

    Jojo, you look very seductrrix.

  2. j. rae sather 04/6/08 at 8:14 am #

    Someone is totally confused. Bon Iver DID NOT play/open for anyone in Madison on Saturday the 30th. And he is not a swede!

  3. cinnamon tingle 04/6/08 at 8:19 am #

    seriously? this is SECOND floppiest? i can’t believe you get any floppier.

  4. jobonga 04/6/08 at 1:17 pm #

    Yes, I believe El Scorcho was duped. Explain yourself, Tommy.

  5. LaVelle 04/6/08 at 3:06 pm #

    You might want to publish another post to remedy your complicity in passing along el schorco ( or whatever his name is) lame and FICTICIOUS post about Bon Iver. You were right he never saw Bon Iver. Here is a copy of my post to him:

    “Dude: I need the name of your dealer. You must have smoked some serious stuff because you DID NOT see Bon Iver. You saw Viktor per Sjobetrg. Bon Iver wasn’t even in Madison March 30. He was in a different state (Iowa). Evidently you were too (in a different state of mind…..f’ed up I would say).
    HOW COULD YOU GET IT SO WRONG?? Like Bon Iver or not you can’t go trashing his performance when you didn’t see him perform. How about an apology to restore your blogger cred…or….maybe you didn’t have any. You put out this cardborad crap and then other people like JOBONGA pass it along. At least she had the sense to partially express her skepticism of your BS and had the sense to write a sensible post based on the fact she really saw Bon Iver…sort of a minimun requirement of any credible review (loving someone or hating them). BTW-Bon Iver will be in Madison April 11 at the Orpheum. So you might want to get your head out of your ass and check it out and spend a little time first googling the real dude.”

  6. wb 04/7/08 at 12:13 am #

    I would go so far as to say that you are OBLIGATED to rectify this bad Bon Iver publicity. I’ve never seen Bon Iver personally, but I like that one song he does. And how stupid does someone have to be to confuse Bon Iver and Viktor per Sjobetrg? Seriously. Your collusion with el schorco and his DEFAMATION of Bon Iver is unethical and misguided. Here’s a copy of my post to him:

    “Dude: justa:afan brings up some really good points. Please stop spreading your lies. And tell us the name of your dealer.”

  7. tommy 04/7/08 at 9:20 am #

    Well, we got there late. For some reason they were only selling Bon Iver and Jens Lekman merch in the hallway. What else was I to think?

  8. Jason 04/16/08 at 10:31 am #

    Who are all these crazy Bon Iver fans? Anyway, just wanted to let you know you weren’t the only one at the show obsessed with the drummer:

  9. lg 05/26/08 at 10:51 pm #

    You should meet his younger brother 😉

  10. sorry 10/15/08 at 1:28 am #

    Sean Carey’s gettin’ hitched in two weekends! (in Madison, in case you’re that much of a stalker)….. sorry to all you heartbroken fans.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Search terms! « jobonga - 12/11/08

    […] Clearly that pancake business is the man himself trying to get back to this post. […]

Leave a Reply

