Sweater Thursday XXI.

20 Mar

Today is the birthday of the father of the zip cardigan, Mr. Fred Rogers.* I encourage you to wear a sweater every Thursday, but today the entire city of Pittsburgh is behind me.

I hope you heed the call. As Mr. McFeely says, it doesn’t have to have a zipper down the front, it just has to be special.

If he were still with us, Mr. Rogers would be 80 years old. Fred and I have several things in common. We are both Presbyterians from Pittsburgh, and at one time, we both lived next door to Mr. McFeely, the mailman featured in that clip. (Actually, my family moved away from him before I was born so that doesn’t really count. Perhaps it is only family legend that he would come to Katie and Meghan’s birthday parties loaded with presents, shouting, “Speedy delivery! Speedy delivery!”)

This morning I zipped up a cardigan in his honor.

cimg2464.jpg

It has pockets.

cimg2472.jpg

In a few hours I will be on the road to Madison, WI. If nothing goes horribly wrong, I will indulge in the ultimate Sweater Thursday treat: Leslie Hall, the gem sweater lady, live at High Noon Saloon! If you’re in Iowa City this weekend, see her at the Picador on Friday.

My wool-blended heart is soggy and swollen with all this sweater love.

*Thanks to Martha and Letizia (happy birthday yesterday!) for the heads up.

3 Responses to “Sweater Thursday XXI.”

  1. ngtamber 03/21/08 at 10:06 pm #

    ahem- (said in a stern voice) how come you didn’t make me aware of the gem sweater lady’s visit?

  2. jobonga 03/22/08 at 2:52 am #

    I thought that’s what that sentence about the Picador was about.

  3. ngtamber 03/22/08 at 8:53 pm #

    yes, but you posted that sentence on the day I was in Des Moines for a Remus Lupins Show and I didn’t do my blog checking until about 10:00 pm on Friday and thus too late to attend any gem lady production. I think something as crazy-amazing as THE GEM SWEATER LADY deserves an immediate phone call. just fyi for the future…

Leave a Reply

