The day I was born my mother tied her tubes.

23 Jan

Today, at 12:42 EST, which is when this should post, I am twenty-seven. I was born on a Friday, the least depressing day of the most depressing week of the year. I tipped the scales at six pounds. The way my mom tells it, she was induced two weeks early because her OB was going on vacation. Awesome! I wonder if that’s also when my disdain for doctors was born. (Sorry all my friends who are doctors. It’s true I disapprove of your careers but we probably have other things in common.)

Turning twenty-five made me cry. Twenty-six was a mess of applying to grad school, preparing to quit a job I was good at, and trying to diagnose the death throes of a long, comfortable relationship. I don’t care about getting older. Bring on the white patch that grows in my cowlick. I think I am finally thriving.

I celebrated twenty-seven at breakfast with coffee and homemade butterscotch pudding.

cimg1613.jpg

4 Responses to “The day I was born my mother tied her tubes.”

  1. 11frogs 01/23/08 at 1:59 pm #

    Happy Birthday, darling! Clearly, you and the Midwest are good for each other.

  2. sister katie 01/23/08 at 2:56 pm #

    Happy Birthday Baby Jo! Congratulations on turning 27 on the most depressing week of the year… you have done it very gracefully. And I love your blog. I didn’t read it for about a month and have much re-acquanting to do.

  3. Darcy 01/23/08 at 3:43 pm #

    Is that a votive candle in your pudding?

  4. Lucia 01/23/08 at 7:42 pm #

    Happy Happy birthday! yeaaaa yeaaaa! Why am I saying everything twice?

    I am glad I found out about this via your blog and not facebook, that is so impersonal 🙂

    celebrate, you are now in your late 20s, still fresh with 20s vigor yet smart enough not to start any new addictions.

Leave a Reply

