I’m supposed to prove how uncool I am.

6 Nov

lansbury.jpg

There are probably plenty of reasons why I am uncool or not cool, but for this tuesday’s essay, I give you my Netflix queue.

queue1.jpg

And here are shows I’ve already watched: all five seasons of Monk.

rented1.jpg

Other shows I enjoy: Murder She Wrote, Are You Being Served?, Keeping Up Appearances, Midsomer Murders (I find Chief Inspector Barnaby impossibly hot and he’s kind of old), everything else BBC, bad movies with Doris Day, anything on TCM or AMC – especially if it’s in Technicolor, 7th Heaven, Cold Case Files, The Andy Griffith Show. I like small-town, far-fetched, improbably-resolved entertainment with low emotional commitment.

Oh, and I’m going to be a librarian – classically uncool no matter how The New York Times spins it. Though I will never play the Dewey Decimal guessing game they speak of. So I might be cool for a librarian.

I also can’t do cartwheels.

*Is anyone else amused by imagining the photo shoot that led to that Angela Lansbury picture? I wonder if they had other props.

3 Responses to “I’m supposed to prove how uncool I am.”

  1. Darcy 11/6/07 at 9:26 am #

    hmmm, you seem to like mysteries. Do you have one of those magnifying glasses at home? I think your next sweater pic should highlight your love of lansbury.

  2. Loud 11/8/07 at 7:07 pm #

    You “can’t” or “won’t” do cartwheels? How can you not do a cartwheel? Even a bad one?

  3. jobonga 11/9/07 at 12:19 am #

    I always land on my ass. I can do a mean tripod, though.

Leave a Reply

