My people… are a few days late.

26 Oct

I realize I missed the bus on Essay Tuesday, but I also screwed up Sweater Thursday and because I want to encourage this brilliant idea I’m posting anyway. This week’s topic was “who are my people?” When I thought about this question I realized I couldn’t ignore the fact that I’ve been told by more than one person about more than one crowd that my friends are kind of mean. That’s not true. They are not mean-spirited. Maybe a little merciless, irreverent, intense. But then again I suppose I can tell who my people are in a crowd because we’re not the ones crying. I’m kind of joking. So, as assigned by 11Frogs:

Who are my people?

If there’s a word that doesn’t describe my people, it’s martyr, but they aren’t assholes either. They are a little punchy. Sometimes my people say things that get them horrified looks from people who aren’t my people. That’s because nothing is sacred to my people, except maybe cheese, and they are willing to risk ire and dignity, yours included, to be funny. My people like to try new things, especially foods, and their threshold for excitement is pretty low; everything is an event. A game of Pictionary. A breakfast sandwich. Wearing slippers. International travel. Call it a zest for life. Consequently, dancing comes naturally to my people; even if they’re no good, they can’t help themselves. My people are critical readers, a little cynical, but rarely brooding. If you cross my people and even if you don’t, there’s a good chance you’ll get tackled but there won’t be any hard feelings later. They pack their snowballs tight and they throw them hard. If they haven’t already, they’re going to smack your ass. And they want you to smack them back.

My people should definitely go cabin-camping this winter…

5 Responses to “My people… are a few days late.”

  1. Darcy 10/26/07 at 7:48 am #

    I don’t know that I am one of your people. Seeing as your people usually make me cry at least once when i see them, even if the hormones are chemically controlled.

  2. Nick 10/26/07 at 9:06 am #

    Joanna, love the blog. Maybe next time you could write something that I have an opinion on. I am, however, intrigued by the concept of “your people.”

  3. jobonga 10/26/07 at 9:29 am #

    Darcy, you are most definitely my people even if you are victimized occasionally. I neeeeeeeed Organgiiiiiina!

  4. Darcy 10/26/07 at 3:38 pm #

    Ha. I totally need it. Because it is SOOOOOOO GOOOOOOOOD.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The answer is none. None more paranoid. « jobonga - 11/13/07

    […] so it must be lame or everyone thinks I am lame and my Essay Tuesday topic can go to hell. Was my “Who Are My People” essay too aggressive? Did I talk too much pumpkin smack? Do I persist in making you uncomfortable with […]

Leave a Reply

